£ $

Shopping Cart

0 item(s) - $0.00
Your shopping cart is empty!
Welcome visitor you can login or create an account.

Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs - Marty Robbins

Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs - Marty Robbins
Product Code: Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs - Marty Robbins
Availability: In Stock
Price: $9.99
   - OR -   

A lonely Westerner in Nashville, Marty Robbins salved his soul by cutting an album (in one afternoon) of mostly self-composed cowboy ballads. One of them was a four-and-a-half-minute epic, "El Paso," that broke every rule of Top 40 programming to become a No. 1 pop and country hit in 1960. Robbins was arguably the most surefooted and accomplished singer in all country music, and that was never more obvious than on these Western ballads performed to often breathtaking perfection with a very small group and a vocal trio. Other titles include "Big Iron" (also a Top 30 hit), "Running Gun," and Western classics like "Cool Water," "Billy the Kid," and "The Strawberry Roan." Three extra tracks flesh out the 1999 release, including "Saddle Tramp" (the B-side of "Big Iron") and "The Hanging Tree" (title song from the 1959 Gary Cooper Western). --Colin Escott

Digitally remastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).Country singer Marty Robbins recorded many different kinds of music in his career, from rock & roll to Hawaiian love songs, but it's with this collection (particularly with the hit song "El Paso") that he is most remembered. This beautifully remastered 1960 album is a combination of traditional songs and Robbins' originals, all with themes of life in the Old West, or story-songs with a Western setting. This is not country music per se--there's no twang or pedal steel guitar to be heard--but clean-picked acoustic guitars (with elements of American and Mexican folk music throughout), soft drums, a chorus of close harmony, and the suave, mellow, distinctive voice of Marty Robbins. The songs are about work, love, travel, death, the beauty of the American West, and living life on your own terms--and paying the price for it. In some ways, Marty Robbins was the Nat "King" Cole of country music--that voice could take you out of your reality into another.

Recorded on 7 April 1959 Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs was released in September the same year and would peak at #6 on the Billboard album charts. The major success of the album was the single El Paso, a #1 hit on both the pop and country charts in 1960 and subsequently the winner of the Grammy Award for Best Country & Western Recording. The album features Marty on guitar and vocals, Grady Martin and Jack Pruett on guitar, Bob Moore on bass, Louis Dunn on drums and backing vocals by Tompall & The Glaser Brothers. Hallmark.(guitar); Bob Moore (bass); Louis Dunn (drums); The Glaser Brothers (background vocals).Includes liner notes by Billy Altman.This is part of Legacy's American Milestones series.Recorded at Bradley Film & Recording, Nashville, Tennessee on April 7, 1959.

 "...Robbins has a beautiful voice and these are great songs...there simply aren't any rock singers capable of such precise melodic balladry as Marty Robbins..."

1. Listen Big Iron
2. Listen A Hundred And Sixty Acres
3. Listen They're Hanging Me Tonight
4. Listen Cool Water
5. Listen Billy The Kid
6. Listen Utah Carol
7. Listen The Strawberry Roan
8. Listen The Master's Call
9. Listen Running Gun
10. Listen El Paso
11. Listen In The Valley
12. Listen The Little Green Valley
13. Listen The Hanging Tree
14. Listen Saddle Tramp
15. Listen El Paso

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below:


Contact Info

&nbspThe Museum of Western Film History
701 S. Main Street
Lone Pine, CA 93545